RSS

An Open Letter to Christians and Homosexuals Alike.

16 Oct

I am unsure of how to title this, but it is what it is.

I want to talk to two different groups, if either side will give this article some thought and consideration, I think we will be able to move forward with a different mindset about the “opposing” team.

There will be some generalizations in this post that are meant to target either the majority or the most vocal. Please read the entire article before making a judgment call. 

First to those who claim Christianity:

When Christians talk about speaking the truth in love, I fear some think that means I can say whatever I want, whenever I want, however I want. Consider for a moment, “Conduct yourselves with wisdom toward outsiders, making the most of the opportunity. Let your speech always be seasoned with grace, as though seasoned with salt, so that you will know how you should respond to each person” (Colossians 4:5-6). One reason why it is easier for many Christians to speak up against homosexuality and push them further away is because we wouldn’t know how to handle them if they darkened our doorstep, so they get pushed away instead of invited near. Some don’t know how to listen to their story and try to understand their background. Since Christians do not understand homosexuality, they try to label and name call.

Consider the church at Corinth. They were comprised of some Christians who were formerly homosexual. How do you think that happened? They were preached the gospel. They were seen as a part of God’s creation just like everyone else. Christians need to stop allowing the “vocal” ones in the media to stir them up, causing them to fight back with rude and damaging social media posts, blog articles, and hate speeches. If Christians do not want to be categorized with those who have done horrible things in the name of Christianity, then quit lumping others together for the faults of some. If they don’t want to hear the truth as the Bible explains it, it is not our job to be sin police. It is not our job to cast them into the abyss,  all will give an account for their actions, even Christians, so watch what you say and how you say it. If you claim to love them, then actually truly whole-heartily love them. Christians sing the song, “They will know we are Christians by our love” let’s start living out those words. Once again Christians cannot condone sin because of the consequences of sin. Christians want to see everyone in heaven and the bible teaches that sin will send a person to hell. The Christians mission on earth is to seek and save the lost, not to condemn people to hell.

Now to those who think we hate them:

Unfortunately some do hate you, as some of you probably hate Christians for the very belief that we hold. I want to let you know, I love you, God loves you. I know Christians have a different way of showing you love then what you would like, but because of our faith we cannot give you love the way you want it. What I mean to say is, we cannot accept sin and make you feel like it is alright. Not just because it is labeled sin and we “hate” all things sin, but because we know the consequences of sin. You may not believe in God, you may not believe in the Bible, you may not even believe in heaven or hell but we do. If you want us to understand you, please try to understand us. Yes some who claim to be Christians have done hateful things but we are not all like that. “Now you may say, we don’t want your love” but unfortunately because of the grace we have received from God, it is in our nature to love. You need to understand, if you believed in heaven and hell as strongly as we do, you would be preaching the same message. Trust me, Christianity has presented me with life changing moments. Decisions at first I did not want to accept. I did not want a God who told me what to do or how to live. Then I realized something, He is not trying to tell me what to do so I can be some pawn in His game. He desires my soul to be with Him in heaven. He desires a follower who understands and appreciates His grace to the point of obedience.

I know this article may not mean a lot to you but it means a lot to me. I wish we could talk. I wish we could sit down and understand each others story. I wish we could share in truths and experiences of life. I want to show you the true and living God. The God of grace, mercy, vengeance, and love. I want to show you all of God. I don’t want to lie to you, I don’t want you to be a part of something you don’t have faith in. All I am asking for is the chance to share my faith. To give you a chance to hear the gospel as it was intended to be preached.

My hearts desire is that for all men to be saved. I would do anything in my power to see that happen. If we talk, I will tell you things you do not want to hear.  I do not say them for the purpose of making you mad  but only for you to understand the love of God. I know you will tell me things that I do not want to hear, things I may need to accept but that doesn’t mean we have to do this in a mean and hateful way. We can love, we can live, but ultimately we will all die  I want to do my best to prepare each person for that day, whether they believe what I believe or not.

This letter was intended for Christians and non-Christians to start caring and loving one another. Get rid of the hate in your hearts toward one another and learn to love. Warning this could change the world as we know it and who knows, could change a persons life.

In Love,

Jesse Nelsen

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 16, 2014 in Christian duties, Grace of God

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
