RSS

Merry Christmas– Seek to Save!

19 Dec

I have recently started to struggle more with the Holidays. It is a time when family gets to come around the table to laugh, play, and reminisce about the “good-ole-days.” I struggle with this because I do not have the compassion I would like to have. Sometimes for me, compassion comes from when I have been where a person has been. This is one area I have always been blessed with, a loving and caring family. The older I get, the more I realize how many people did not grow up in the type of family that I get to enjoy. They did not grow up with parents who loved them enough to spend the time and make the appropriate sacrifices needed to show their children that they love and care for them.

When I see and hear about how horrible the holidays are for some, it really breaks my heart, but it’s never enough for me to actually do anything about it. You see there are people I could invite over for a meal, but I don’t; there are people who I could do something nice for, but I don’t always do; there are people who could use the love that I have received, yet I tend to keep it to myself.

This is an area in my life that I would like to change. I would like to be able to impact a person’s life, make a difference, and in the way that it actually counts. It is easy to hand someone some money and say happy holiday or even, GASP, Merry Christmas, but it is harder to place myself in a person’s icky-sticky life to try and heal their hurts, to bandage their wounds, or to try and restore their soul.

The greatest gift we can give a person this year is ourselves; to go out of our way to have an impact on a persons life…lets all strive to do better and to be more Christ-like. He came to seek and save the lost, we need to seek to save! This may start by lending a helping hand with something they need in life and then opening up God’s word to guide them in the way of eternal life!

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Merry Christmas– Seek to Save!

  1. Jackie Arford Sherwood

    November 28, 2016 at 10:38 AM

    Yes…just this! We do too much talking about doing and then not enough just doing. It’s an old cliché, but we really are the hands and feet of Jesus. Let’s stop using our hands to feed ourselves and our feet to take us places where it only benefits us, and let’s start getting our hands dirty and stepping in the muck that is too often what makes up our society.

     

Leave a Reply

 
